The Cobb Institute for Archaeology at Mississippi State University has partnered with the University of Mississippi Medical Center (UMMC) to systematically excavate, document, and rebury graves located within the right-of-way of University Drive on the east side of campus. These graves are associated with the Mississippi State Asylum, which was established in 1845 and moved to Whitfield in 1935. Although the original asylum no longer stands, archaeologists at the Cobb Institute hope the analysis of burials can shed light on life at the institution and, potentially, the treatment of the mentally ill in late 19th to early 20th century Mississippi in general.
Please feel free to explore the sections of this website to learn about the Cobb Institute’s efforts to excavate and document the skeletal remains, the origins and history of the Asylum, and how community members can assist the project by providing information about the Asylum, individual patients, and the history of North Jackson and the Fondren area.
Burial excavation and documentation.read more
Osteologicial analysis including assessment of demography and pathologyread more
Find out more about the Asylum associated with these burials.read more
Please send us comments or information about ancestors buried at the Asylum Cemetery.contact us